Garments for Survival 2022 - series one
The Crown of Grassroots 
society in the change room

In this series of online presentations we will launch a new collection of  garments into the global imagination. These garments are metaphors for new thinking around social and political forms. Learn more.

We are interested in the ideas of civil society, basic income, direct democracy and the disentanglement of political structures as suggested by Rudolf Steiner. Our aim is not to offer solutions but to facilitate a type of thinking that can find them. To this end we are imagining Garments of Survival as field of collective enquiry in which new ideas can articulate themselves through and in community.

Each Zoom meeting will be an hour long, comprised of an introduction by the presenters, a breakout session to dialogue in small groups and a final sharing of insights.

contributions by donations - this project is enabled by contributions from participants in line with community supported culture. 

series one - five Sundays 

Sun 06 Feb     The Crown of Grassroots

Sun 13 Feb     The Snakeskin Glove 

Sun 20 Feb     Coatings of Canvas

Sun 27 Feb     Cocoon in Common

Sun 06 Mar    Sack Cloth


The Crown of Grassroots 
 

Crown Grass 1.jpg

The Crown of Grassroots nr 2 and Snakeskin Glove crafted by Sharon Clifford.  The  Sack Cloth meme  tailored by Lesley Cotter.

please note: each Sunday we will run the same session twice to cater for different time zones; please note your group/time-zone for registration.

Group A - times & time-zones

Zagreb CET 10.00 am             

Cape Town 11.00am

Moscow MSK 12.00 noon

Mumbai IST 2.00 pm

Perth AWST 5.00 pm   

Beijing CST 5.00 pm

Tokyo JST 6.00 pm        

Sydney AEDT 8.00 pm

Wellington NZDT 10.00 pm 

Group B - times & time-zones

Zagreb CET 7.00 pm 

Honolulu HST 8.00 am

San Francisco PST 10.00 am

New York EST 12.00 noon

Sao Paulo BRT 3.00 pm

London GMT 6.00 pm

Cape Town 8.00 pm 

 

Redress – an introduction

    

In this series of online meetups we launch a collection of garments into the global imagination. The garments we have sketched here are metaphors for new thinking around political forms as well as attempts to re-stitch the social fabric. Our aim is not to offer solutions but to activate a type of thinking that can continuously find them.

With this in mind we have ventured forth as artists to explore fields usually ploughed by experts. Our aim is to think outside the boxing ring where new idea are ritually knocked out at the point of entry. To avoid this we will use new language to invite new thoughts and supplement intellectual head-gear with simile and metaphor. 

We will therefore deal with political topics as if they were clothes because they actually are. The modern state is a more or less fitting garment covering a whole nation. While we know that autocratic regimes are too much of a straight-jacket and anarchic societies too loose a fit, we remain blissfully ignorant of just how unsuited many of our collective attires are. With democracies still wrapped in swaddling the body politic itches on all sides: The uniform of our education may not fit the variables of our professional lives. The economic overall may be too oversized for a planet of limited means. 

All these are clothe more real than those we put on in the morning and take off at night. They are clothes we all wear all the time. Clothes that cover societies and compass the globe. Clothes so influential that they determine the shape of nations, the course of the state, the destiny of the planet.

They inevitably change over time but not always in time. All too often outdated attires determine societal mobility, the shape of the economy, the cut of the state and the alarming state of the world.

The latter suggest that it is time to and make our way to the change room and search for a new set of clothes. The designs presented here may look unusual at first. But try them on. They may fit better than you expect. They may be the fashion you had imagined all along.

What follows are only suggestions. Feel free to improve where you see fit.